Author Topic: Dangers using head halters (Halti's, Gentle Leaders)  (Read 1682 times)

Offline MParlier

• Administrator
  • Forum Owner/Administrator
Dangers using head halters (Halti's, Gentle Leaders)
« on: September 21, 2009, 07:40:43 PM »
www.pawmark.com/ccoc/pdf/halti-caution.pdf

This is a long article, but it speaks of the dangers using head halters (Halti's, Gentle Leaders) as training devices for dogs. It also talks about using harness's. As an obedience instructor I never really have recommended head halters or harnesses, yet many "trainers" have. All training equipment can be detrimental if not used or fitted properly, however, even though individuals swear by head halters, I find them to be the most damaging to a dog, yet the most gentle in appearance, and a quick fix but not a real training tool. Most of these types of products gives a dog no choice but to behave and walk nicely, however, if taken off and a collar put on, etc., the dog goes back to pulling and is still yet not trained to heal.

Anyway, I find this article to be interesting and helpful as well as shedding some new light on head harnesses and harnesses. Harnesses are meant for pulling, so again, on many dogs, you are teaching them to pull and not heal.

Paula and the Clumber Gang and Rica The Bracco
Battle Ground, WA

~~~

Cervical Vertebrae, Middle Ear, and Brain Stem Injuries in Dogs Caused by Improperly Used Control Devices

By Nancy Evans

From the November issue of the Newsletter of the Pasanita Obedience Club

Having recently been presented with several severe injuries resulting from dogs being led"?" or perhaps leading their owners in Haiti TM or Gentle LeaderTM head gear, I would like to make a few comments. These devices are designed to function on a dog, in the manner that a halter functions on a horse. They